Who Can Get Social Security Disability Benefits?

Spread the love

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, over 37 million Americans—about 12% of the total population—are classified as disabled. When disabled American taxpayers find themselves unable to earn an income, they turn to Social Security Disability (SSD) for the benefits. Unfortunately, the Social Security Administration (SSA) denies 60% of initial SSD claims and a whopping 85% of appeals.

Why is that?

Who Qualifies for SSD Benefits?

To qualify for Social Security disability benefits, you must first have worked in jobs covered by Social Security and you must have enough work credits (anywhere between 20 and 40, depending on your age). You must also meet the following requirements:

  • If you are working in 2017, you must earn less than $1,170 a month. If you are not working, your application will be sent to the Disability Determination Services office for a decision.
  • Your condition is on SSA’s list of severe medical conditions. If your condition is not on the list, the SSA will decide if it is of equal severity to a medical condition on the list.
  • Your condition must be severe enough to interfere with the work you did previously.
  • Your condition must be severe enough that you cannot adjust to other work.

What Medical Conditions Are Listed?

The listing manual, which is updated every year, includes:

  • Cardiovascular conditions, such as heart failure or coronary artery disease
  • Respiratory illnesses, such as asthma or COPD
  • Mental disorders, such as depression, anxiety, autism and schizophrenia
  • Neurological disorders, such as multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy and epilepsy
  • Kidney disease
  • Cancer

It is important to remember, however, that even if you meet all of the requirements, you may still get denied for SSD benefits. For this reason, you should enlist the legal guidance of our experienced Connecticut personal injury attorneys at Carter Mario Injury Lawyers.